Archive for September, 2008

Loco Locass – Sheila Chu Là

Monday, September 29th, 2008

Loco Locass are an hip hop group from Quebec formed in 1995. The group often defends the role of the French language in Canada, and champions Quebec sovereignty. Loco Locass’ lyrics often deal with the role of the French language, and Quebec’s role in Canada. Songs such as ROC Rap and Résistance highlight the band’s political leanings, and their strong advocation for Quebec to secede from Canada.

Big Sugar – Turn The Lights On

Monday, September 22nd, 2008

Big Sugar was a Canadian blues-rock band, active from 1991 to 2004. Big Sugar officially formed in 1991 in Medicine Hat, Alberta, consisting of vocalist and guitarist Gordie Johnson, bassist Terry Wilkins, and drummer Al Cross, though the three musicians had already played together for several years as an informal jam band with members of the Bourbon Tabernacle Choir, and as a supporting band for Molly Johnson’s jazz performances.

YouTube Preview Image

Eidolon – Coma Nation

Tuesday, September 16th, 2008

Eidolon is a Canadian power metal/progressive metal band formed in 1993 by brothers Shawn and Glen Drover. The band has released seven studio albums to date. In 2005 Eidolon announced the addition of new vocalist Nils K. Rue.

YouTube Preview Image

Armchair Cynics – “Bang”

Monday, September 8th, 2008

Armchair Cynics are a rock band from Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. In 2004 the band signed a Canadian recording and development contract with Vancouver based 604 Records (Owned by Nickelback singer Chad Kroeger and attorney Jonathan Simkin). The recording supplied three singles Bang, Coalmine and Surprise Ending. Members of the band are:

  • Kenn Coutu: Vocals and Guitar
  • Adam Sutherland: Guitar, Keyboards and Vocals
  • Aran Puritch: Bass
  • Ryan Rae: Drums
YouTube Preview Image